Board Subcommittee Reports

Board Technology Committee Report

“Technology is increasingly the key to differentiating ourselves in the market. The Committee has focussed significant attention on exploring new avenues for growth as well as monitoring potential threats in this key area.”

Charter of the Committee

The Committee was established by the Board of Directors in recognition of the degree of reliance of the Bank on technology and the growing demands of
IT Governance.

The Committee has been empowered to:

  • Set the overall technology strategy and track progress of the objectives to meet this strategy.
  • Review significant technology procurements, prior to them being sent to the Board of Directors for approval.
  • Analyse emerging technology and its potential use.


The Board Technology Committee (the BTC) consists following members whose profiles are given on pages 11 to 13:

Prof. A.K.W. Jayawardane* (Chairman)

Mr. J. Durairatnam* (Managing Director/CEO)

Mr. S. Renganathan* (Executive Director/Chief Operating Officer)

Ms. N.T.M.S. Cooray* (Director) Appointed w.e.f. September 30, 2016

Regular Attendees by Invitation:

Mr. L.H. Munasinghe (Deputy General Manager – Marketing)

Mr. D.B. Saparamadu (Consultant)

Secretary: Mr. K.S.A. Gamage (Assistant General Manager – Information Technology)


Name   Eligible to attend Attended
Prof. A.K.W. Jayawardane   3 3
Mr. J. Durairatnam   3 3
Mr. S. Renganathan   3 3
Ms. N.T.M.S. Cooray   1 1

Periodic updates are given to the Board of Directors on the progress of the objectives of the Committee.

Activities in 2016

The committee reviewed and approved the IT strategy of the Bank and reviewed progress of strategic objectives. The Committee also reviewed significant items for procurement and recommends them for approval by the Board of Directors.

Prof. A.K.W. Jayawardane

Chairman – Board Technology Committee

February 22, 2017